Six Lives of Fankle the Cat


by George MacKay Brown

‘Reading this book is pure joy’ – The Scotsman

‘A book to be read aloud and enjoyed by adults and children alike’ – Shelf Life

Suitable for ages 8+. Would appeal to older readers as well.

Paperback: 128 pages

Publisher: Kelpies, an imprint of Floris Books, 2002 (new edit. 2016)

Language: English

1 in stock

SKU: 9780863159824 Categories: ,

When the shopkeeper gives Jenny a skinny, black kitten she has no idea who she has adopted. Fankle is no ordinary cat.

The fiercely clever feline has lived six lives so far: lives of adventure, danger, fortune and poverty. He’s stared down angry pirates, started a blood feud, won a war, advised an empress and leapt onto the moon.

Fankle tells Jenny tales of his former lives — with the king of pirates, in ancient Egypt and even with the Empress of China. So what is he doing living in a crofter’s cottage in Orkney?

This classic novel by George Mackay Brown is a rich and rewarding read for adults and children alike.

Additional information

Dimensions 13 × 1 × 19.8 cm

You may also like…