The Ring of Bright Water (trilogy)


by Gavin Maxwell

‘Engrossing and magnificent’ The Spectator

‘Gavin Maxwell’s trilogy is essential reading’ The Sunday Herald

Paperback: 408 pages

Publisher: Penguin Books, 2001 (first published by Viking, 2000)

Language: English

Out of stock

The classic story of a life’s devotion to otters

Fifty years ago Gavin Maxwell went to live in an abandoned house on a shingle beach on the west coast of Scotland. A haven for wildlife – he named his home Camusfearna and settled there with the otters Mij, Edal and Teko.

The Ring of Bright Water chronicles Gavin Maxwell’s first ten years with the otters and touched the hearts of readers the world over, brilliantly evoking life with these playful animals in this natural paradise. Two further volumes followed – The Rocks Remain and Raven Seek Thy Brother – bringing the story full circle telling of the difficult last years and the final abandonment of the settlement.

For the first time the entire trilogy is available in a single narrative in this beautifully presented book. 

Gavin Maxwell was born in the south-west of Scotland and was educated at a succession of schools before taking a degree in Estate Management at Oxford. He served with the Special Operations Executive during the Second World War, after which he bought the island of Soay. As well as his famous otter books – Ring of Bright Water and The Rocks Remain – he also wrote the critically acclaimed People of the Reeds, an account of the marsh Arabs of southern Iraq. He died in 1969.

Additional information

Dimensions 12.9 × 2.5 × 19.8 cm

You may also like…